Honoring Boundaries…

Published January 28, 2014 by Jamie Barone

bouHonoring Boundaries: This has been a difficult life lesson for me, because, I have always cared so much not to hurt anyone. I have since learned that, in not deciding or honoring my own boundaries, I was hurting myself far more than I could ever hurt someone else who already did not respect me.

While I may not have perfected this process, I am well on my way. Yes, I still feel concern over the possibility of hurting another’s feelings, but I, in Love, have learned to walk away.

This has truly become such a source of freedom for me. I no longer allow myself to be disrespected, manipulated, shamed, guilt-tripped, belittled or ridiculed–and, for us self-learned people-pleasers, we can easily become targets for these types of treatments/people. Believe me when I say ‘this life lesson is an extremely empowering one.’

“To thine own self be true, and it must follow, as the night the day, thou canst not then be false to any man.” – William Shakespeare

Love,

Jamie

One comment on “Honoring Boundaries…

  • Leave a Reply

